Before today I didn’t know your name
I saw you passing by , and so I new your stride
In the morning I saw you, at noon and in the evening
So I knew the color of the sunrise on your cheeks
I gave you the name “sunrise of my soul”
I knew the tan of the noon sun on your skin
I gave you the name “tan that colors my heart”
I knew the color of the sunset on your forehead
and on your hair
I gave you the name “sunset of my worries”
“The mane of beauty”
Until today I looked at you
Sometimes I wanted to call you my morning glory
But I discovered the name already existed
I wanted to call you a purple hibiscus
a red rose, a yellow carnation
I knew I would be insulting your beauty
Before today I kept on guessing
I guessed and hoped
I hoped and wished
I wished and prayed
I prayed and fasted
That I could know your name
Your name in a whisper
Your name in a shout
Your name from a friend
Your name from a dream
Your name from the gods
Before today, I didn’t know your name
I wanted to ask but courage failed me
I wanted to greet you but the greetings flew out of my mind
I wanted to smile at you but a smile wouldn’t just form
I wanted to touch you but my arms would not move
Your name, that before today I didn’t know
Maybe you saw that I was struggling too hard
For you came and whispered
and you bit my ear
A whisper with a warning
And I knew why I didn’t know your name
And I knew why I cant reveal your name
Your name, clothed in secrecy!!

